What is classification?
In 1978 the citizens of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts adopted a Constitutional amendment authorizing the General Court to classify real property into as many as four classes (residential, open space, commercial, and industrial) and to tax such classes differently. The Department of Revenue supervises the implementation of property classification. In Agawam, the determination to allocate the tax burden by class is made annually by the Town Council, with the approval of the Mayor.

Show All Answers

1. How are values determined?
2. What is an abatement?
3. What are the requirements for an abatement of real property taxes?
4. What are the procedures for filing an abatement?
5. What is classification?
6. What are the classes of property?
7. How do I change my tax bill mailing address?
8. How can I change the tax bill to my name after purchasing a parcel of property?